top of page
Search
  • Graham Bonnell

4 PSA Matches, 2 Days

Saturday, May 11.


The day started with slamming some fried rice and eggs, some fresh veggies, and a liter of water. Not an hour later, I was on court, facing a player who had flown here from Turkey. My opponent was very fast, and a good squash player, but was hesitant with his volley. I was able to take advantage of this and go up 2-0. In the third, he was able to edge the game out and bring it to 2-1. Between games I switched shirts, donned a bandanna, downed a squeeze of energy gel and told myself to stick to my own game plan. The 4th game was brutal, with a few very long rallies and a couple ungainly dives (by yours truly). I was able to win, resulting in a 3-1 final outcome.


In my second match (the consolation final), I dropped the first two games,. My opponent was a shot maker, with very nice hands. He also had a knack for keeping the ball glued to the wall. He had spent several years planning on the Dutch national team, and I could tell he had a lot experience. I was able to fight back, and win games three and four, bringing the match score to 2-2. In the fifth, we went back and forth until 9-9. He slammed a rolling knick, and squeezed out a super tight length to win it 11-9.


Overall, this entire tournament has been an absolute blast. The squash community here is amazing. There are 17 courts, and all 17 were being used by casual, social players.




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page